(Renton. WA) The WIAA Hall of Fame committee will welcome two new classes of inductees on May 4th during a luncheon. The 2019 class is led by Drew Bledsoe who graduated from Walla Walla High School and went on to play Quarterback at WSU and had a 14 year professional career spending most of his pro days in New England but had stops in Buffalo and Dallas.

The public is welcome to attend and tickets are $20 and include lunch. Here is the WIAA press release with all of the inductees for 2019 and 2020 along with details on the event. ESN will live stream the event on the NFHS Network.

To purchase tickets click on this link: https://gofan.co/app/events/582119?schoolId=WIAA

WIAA Announces 2019 and 2020 Hall of Fame Classes

The Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) announced its Hall of Fame classes for the years 2019 and 2020, Friday. The two groups, each consisting of five new members, will be honored at a May 4 luncheon at the Renton Pavilion Events Center.

The 2019 inductees into the athlete category are former collegiate and professional quarterback Drew Bledsoe of Walla Walla High School and standout track athlete Selina Burton-Bennett of Hazen High School. The 2020 inductees into the athlete category are multi-sport community icon Michelle Perkins of Lakeside School in Seattle and baseball phenom BJ Garbe of Moses Lake High School.

Jim Freeman will be inducted to the 2019 Hall of Fame class for his impactful coaching contributions to the cross country and track programs at Mount Baker High School, with John Schubert joining the 2020 class after a storied career coaching soccer at West Valley High School in Yakima.

Joining the 2019 class as an outstanding official is Terry Beckstead, who mirrored the enthusiasm of student-athletes from every angle of his duties. Administrator Jim Piccolo will be inducted into the 2020 class for his profound innovations at Stanwood High School and broader impact across the state. 

For pioneering character-based culture in youth sports, Bruce Brown will be inducted into the 2019 class as a contributor. And for his life-long dedication to the experiences of student-athletes across the state, former WIAA Executive Director Mike Colbrese joins the 2020 class as a long-standing contributor to the Association and its membership.

“The WIAA is thrilled to honor this group of individuals for the incredibly impactful contributions they’ve made in their communities and to the State of Washington,” said WIAA Executive Director Mick Hoffman. “We’re looking forward to celebrating the accomplishments of both inductee classes on May 4th.”


Drew Bledsoe  – Athlete
Selina Burton-Bennett – Athlete
Jim Freeman – Coach
Bruce Brown – Contributor
Terry Beckstead – Official


Michelle Perkins – Athlete
BJ Garbe – Athlete
John Schubert – Coach
Jim Piccolo – Administrator
Mike Colbrese – Contributor

Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon – Wednesday, May 4th 2022

Renton Pavilion Event Center
233 Burnett Avenue South
Renton, WA 98057


  • 11:00am – Doors Open
  • 12:00pm – Lunch
  • 12:30pm – 2:00pm – Induction Ceremony

Tickets: $20



By paulb

WordPress Image Lightbox


Click here for LIVE high school athletics
via Eli Sports on the NFHS Network!